What is CAMA Certification by WPiAM?

World Partners in Asset Management (WPiAM) is a global partnership of national non-profit professional associations that was formed in late 2014 to enable individuals and organisations to develop, assess, and recognise asset management competence for the benefit of their members and the asset management community at large.

ABRAMAN (Brazil), AM Council (Australia), IFRAMI (France), PEMAC (Canada), and SMRP (USA) are all members.

The WPiAM's three primary goals are to:

  • Maintain a database of questions and answers that can be used to certify ISO55001 auditors and assessors in the bare minimum of asset management knowledge and understanding;
  • Be a global certifier of individuals in the marketplace; and
  • Exemplify the ideals of integrity, collaboration, and public service.

WPiAM's Certified Asset Management Assessor (CAMA) is a new industry certification that certifies a person's credentials in asset management knowledge and comprehension around the world. The CAMA accreditation is accepted in Australia, the United States, Canada, France, and Brazil. In terms of core requirements and knowledge, certification complies with ISO 55001 asset management standards; ISO 17021-5 (Conformity assessment — Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of management systems — Part 5: Competence requirements for auditing and certification of asset management systems); and ISO 19011.

The CAMA certification will assure the quality of assessors and ISO 55001 procedures, as well as certify competency in asset management system knowledge and comprehension. Designed for asset management professionals with at least five years of experience who want to enhance their careers and learn more.

This certification was created under stringent guidelines and with the participation of leaders from a variety of key industries where good asset management is critical. The Certification has also undergone rigorous Beta testing and is now accessible. It has been tested for content authenticity and suitability.

This multiple-choice exam is based on the GFMAM ISO55001 Auditor Assessor Specification, ISBN978 0 9871799 3 7. The WPiAM is in charge of creating, maintaining, and administering the exam. The certification is carried out in line with 17024, and it meets the following requirements:

Specification for GFMAM

  • First Edition, version 2 English Version GFMAM Competency Specification for an ISO 55001 Asset Management System Auditor/Assessor
  • Part 5, section 5 of ISO 17021
  • Part 5: Competence criteria for the certification of asset management systems — Conformity assessment — Requirements for organisations offering audit and certification of management systems

What are the certification's requirements?

Applicants must meet the following requirements:

have at least 5 years of asset management experience; offer a resume/cv; and complete a professional profile. This professional profile is intended to show that you comply with ISO 17021-5, "Competence standards for auditing and certification of asset management systems," which requires auditors to have expertise with specific industries and asset classes.

Applicants must meet the following requirements:

Understand the GFMAM Competency Specification for an ISO 55001 Asset Management System Auditor/Assessor and have a working grasp of ISO 5500X Standards.

How do you get your CAMA certification?

A proctored online exam and a professional profile are required to receive the Certified Asset Management Assessor Certificate. It is a two-hour closed book exam with approximately 110 multiple choice questions. English is the current exam language. The spelling rules of ISO are followed.

Is the certification valid for a certain period of time?

The certificate has a three-year validity period. Over a three-year period, certificants can renew their certification by earning CPD points. If a candidate has not maintained sufficient CPD, they must retake the exam to be certified.

Is there any reference material available?

The following is a list of resources:

  • ISO 5500x is a set of international standards.
  • GFMAM Competency Specification for an Auditor/Assessor of an ISO 55000 Asset Management System.
  • Second Edition of GFMAM Landscape.
  • The ISO 55001 Companion Guide
  • The Asset Management Framework.