What does the Global Certification Scheme mean for AMCouncil Members

It might be challenging to set yourself apart from your peers in an ever-changing and competitive work environment. To your employer, industry colleagues, and yourself, you want to demonstrate professionalism, qualification, and dedication. It isn't a simple task.

Now is the time to start the global certification scheme.

Getting an asset management certification / global certification can help you advance in your career in a variety of ways. It gives you a nationally and internationally recognised credential and shows that you're serious about certified asset management.

The asset management certification scheme provides the worldwide asset management community with a number of important benefits.

Having your knowledge, skills and experience in asset management recognised against a global standard offers numerous and extensive benefits along your professional asset management journey.

For individuals, the key benefits of achieving global certification are:

  • Global recognition of your asset management knowledge, skills and experience achieved via varied pathways
  • Increased job opportunities
  • Builds your network through engagement and events at your local Society
  • Transportable across industry and career roles
  • Provides a clear pathway to advancement and increased earning potential
  • Global transferability of recognition across industries and countries

There are three designation levels that an individual can achieve within the Global Certification Scheme.

  • Certified Senior Principal in Asset Management (CSAM)
  • Certified Practitioner in Asset Management (CPAM)
  • Certified Technical Specialist in Asset Management (CTAM)

How is the Global Certification Scheme Aligned?

The AMCouncil certification scheme is to be aligned to the WPiAM Global Certification Scheme (GCS) for the CPAM, CTSM and CSAM designations only. This means that your CPAM, CTSM and CSAM certification now holds greater value and is recognised throughout the world!



For those who already hold CPAM, CTSM and CSAM: No need to do anything. Your CPAM, CTSM or CSAM certification will be automatically recognised as a Asset Management Certification/Global Certification as it was obtained through AMCouncil Certification scheme.



Yes! When it is time for your CPAM, CTSM or CSAM certificate to be renewed the AMCouncil will issue a certificate which contains the Global Certification Scheme logo on it. In the meantime your current CPAM, CTSM or CSAM certificate issued with the AM Council logo on it will automatically be recognised as part of the Global Certification scheme for the designations of CPAM, CTSM and CSAM. 



Certificates are valid for three years. You may apply for recertification either from six months prior or up to three years after the expiry date. Recertification will be valid for another three years ongoing from the expiry date of the original certificate.

To apply for renewal click here or alternatively logon to our website and then select the 'Certification' tab. Here you will see a list of your accreditations earned through the Asset Management Council. If your certificate is nearing expiry, or has expired within the last three years, you will have the option to select ‘Renew’ which will prompt you to confirm the amount of CPD points earned since you last applied for accreditation.

It is important to keep a log of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) points especially for this reason. All of our members have access to an online log which can be accessed and viewed here. Please note that points earned for attendance to Asset Management Council events will be automatically listed in your log. You also have the option to manually enter other CPD points accumulated from events not with the Asset Management Council.

Once you have applied to 'Renew', providing the amount of CPD points meets the set requirement, you will receive an invoice and then will be able to download your current certificate online once payment is made.

ALSO READ: What Is An Assessor And Why You Should Consider Training To Become One