FIFA World Cup 2018

    Abdulaziz Sobh

    0/5 stars (0 votes)

    The 2018 FIFA World Cup will be the XXI FIFA World Cup, a four-year international football tournament played by the national men's teams of the FIFA member associations. It is planned to take place in Russia from June 14 to July 15, 2018, after the country was awarded housing rights on December 2, 2010. This will be the first World Cup held in Europe since the 2006 tournament in Germany and the first to be held in Eastern Europe. All the stadiums are located in European Russia so that the travel time is manageable. The final tournament will involve 32 national teams, which include 31 teams determined through qualifying competitions and the automatically qualified host team. Of the 32 teams, 20 will make consecutive appearances after the last tournament of 2014, including the defending champion Germany, while Iceland and Panama will make their first appearances in a FIFA World Cup. A total of 64 games will be played in 12 locations located in 11 cities. The final will take place on July 15 at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow. The winners of the World Cup will qualify for the FIFA Confederations Cup 2021.

    FIFA World Cup 2018: Groupsimage

    Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay

    Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran

    Group C: France, Australia, Peru, Denmark

    Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria

    Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia

    Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea

    Group G: Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England

    Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan


    FIFA World Cup 2018: Matches

    Date Match Venue Kick-off (BST)
    Thursday June 14  Russia v Saudi Arabia (A)  Moscow (Luzhniki)  4pm
    Friday June 15  Egypt v Uruguay (A)  Ekaterinburg  1pm
    Friday June 15  Morocco v Iran (B)  St Petersburg  4pm
    Friday June 15  Portugal v Spain (B)  Sochi  7pm
    Saturday June 16  France v Australia (C)  Kazan  11am
    Saturday June 16  Argentina v Iceland (D)  Moscow (Spartak)  2pm
    Saturday June 16  Peru v Denmark (C)  Saransk  5pm
    Saturday June 16  Croatia v Nigeria (D)  Kaliningrad  8pm
    Sunday June 17  Costa Rica v Serbia (E)  Samara  1pm
    Sunday June 17  Germany v Mexico (F)  Moscow (Luzhniki)  4pm
    Sunday June 17  Brazil v Switzerland (E)  Rostov-on-Don  7pm
    Monday June 18  Sweden v South Korea (F)  Nizhny Novgorod  1pm
    Monday June 18  Belgium v Panama (G)  Sochi  4pm
    Monday June 18  Tunisia v England (G)  Volgograd  7pm
    Tuesday June 19  Poland v Senegal (H)  Moscow (Spartak)  1pm
    Tuesday June 19  Colombia v Japan (H)  Saransk  4pm
    Tuesday June 19  Russia v Egypt (A)  St Petersburg  7pm
    Wednesday June 20  Portugal v Morocco (B)  Moscow (Luzhniki)  1pm
    Wednesday June 20  Uruguay v Saudi Arabia (A)  Rostov-on-Don  4pm
    Wednesday June 20  Iran v Spain (B)  Kazan  7pm
    Thursday June 21  France v Peru (C)  Ekaterinburg  1pm
    Thursday June 21  Denmark v Australia (C)  Samara  4pm
    Thursday June 21  Argentina v Croatia (D)  Nizhny Novgorod  7pm
    Friday June 22  Brazil v Costa Rica (E)  St Petersburg  1pm
    Friday June 22  Nigeria v Iceland (D)  Volgograd  4pm
    Friday June 22  Serbia v Switzerland (E)  Kaliningrad  7pm
    Saturday June 23  Belgium v Tunisia (G)  Moscow (Spartak)  1pm
    Saturday June 23  Germany v Sweden (F)  Sochi  4pm
    Saturday June 23  South Korea v Mexico (F)  Rostov-on-Don  7pm
    Sunday June 24  England v Panama (G)  Nizhny Novgorod  1pm
    Sunday June 24  Japan v Senegal (H)  Ekaterinburg  4pm
    Sunday June 24  Poland v Colombia (H)  Kazan  7pm
    Monday June 25  Uruguay v Russia (A)  Samara  3pm
    Monday June 25  Saudi Arabia v Egypt (A)  Volgograd  3pm
    Monday June 25  Spain v Morocco (B)  Kaliningrad  7pm
    Monday June 25  Iran v Portugal (B)  Saransk  7pm
    Tuesday June 26  Denmark v France (C)  Moscow (Luzhniki)  3pm
    Tuesday June 26  Australia v Peru (C)  Sochi  3pm
    Tuesday June 26  Nigeria v Argentina (D)  St Petersburg  7pm
    Tuesday June 26  Iceland v Croatia (D)  Rostov-on-Don  7pm
    Wednesday June 27  South Korea v Germany (F)  Kazan  3pm
    Wednesday June 27  Mexico v Sweden (F)  Ekaterinburg  3pm
    Wednesday June 27  Serbia v Brazil (E)  Moscow (Spartak)  7pm
    Wednesday June 27  Switzerland v Costa Rica (E)  Nizhny Novgorod  7pm
    Thursday June 28  Japan v Poland (H)  Volgograd  3pm
    Thursday June 28  Senegal v Colombia (H)  Samara  3pm
    Thursday June 28  England v Belgium (G)  Kaliningrad  7pm
    Thursday June 28  Panama v Tunisia (G)  Saransk  7pm
    LAST 16      
    Saturday June 30  1C v 2D (Match 50) Kazan  3pm 
    Saturday June 30  1A v 2B (Match 49) Sochi  7pm 
    Sunday July 1  1B v 2A (Match 51) Moscow  3pm 
    Sunday July 1  1D v 2C (Match 52) Nizhny Novgorod  7pm 
    Monday July 2  1E v 2F (Match 53) Samara  3pm 
    Monday July 2  1G v 2H (Match 54) Rostov-on-Don  7pm
    Tuesday July 3  1F v 2E (Match 55) St Petersburg  3pm
    Tuesday July 3  1H v 2G (Match 56) Moscow (Spartak)  7pm 
    Friday July 6  Winner 49 v winner 50 (57)  Nizhny Novgorod  3pm
    Friday July 6  Winner 53 v winner 54 (58)  Kazan  7pm 
    Saturday July 7  Winner 55 v winner 56 (60)  Samara  3pm 
    Saturday July 7  Winner 51 v winner 52 (59)  Sochi  7pm 
    Tuesday July 10  Winner 57 v winner 58  St Petersburg  7pm
    Wednesday July 11  Winner 59 v winner 60  Moscow (Luzhniki)  7pm
    Saturday July 14 Losers of two semi-finals  St Petersburg  3pm
    Sunday July 15 Winners of two semi-finals  Moscow (Luzhniki)  4pm

    Commenting only available for logged in users