The 5 Love Languages: The Secret To Love That Lasts Book By Gary Chapman (PDF-Summary-Review-Online Reading-Download)



The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate is a 1992 book by Gary Chapman. Describe five ways to express and experience love between romantic partners that Chapman calls love languages.

Book Summary
According to Chapman, The five ways of expressing and experiencing love called "Love Languages" are:
1: Words of Affirmation
This love language expresses love with words that strengthen your partner. Verbal compliments do not have to be complicated; The shortest and simplest compliments may be the most effective.

"That dress looks amazing on you!"
"You always make me laugh."
"I love your hair today."

Words mean a lot if your partner has this love language. Compliments and an "I love you" can be very useful. On the other hand, negative or insulting comments can hurt your partner and may take longer to forgive than others.

2: Acts of service
Your partner could have this love language if his motto is "Actions speak louder than words."

This love language is expressed by doing things that you know your spouse would like. Cooking a meal, washing clothes and collecting a recipe are all acts of service. They require a little thought, time and effort.

All these things must be done positively and taking into account the maximum happiness of your partner to be considered an expression of love. Actions by obligation or with a negative tone are something completely different.

3: Receiving Gifts
This language of love is not necessarily materialistic. It simply means that a meaningful or thoughtful gift makes your partner feel loved and appreciated. Something as simple as taking a pint of your favorite ice cream after a long week of work can have a big impact.

This is different from the Acts of service, where you show affection when taking actions to help your partner.

4: Quality Time
This language of love has to do with undivided attention. There are no televisions, smartphones or other distractions. If this is your partner's primary language, they not only want to be included during this period of time, but they want to be the center of your attention. They want their partners to look at them and only at them.

This does not mean that you do not snuggle on the couch to watch Netflix or HBO; It just means that you should make sure you spend time together without all the distractions. That will help them feel comforted in the relationship.

Each time you cancel an appointment, postpone time together or not present during your time together, it can be extremely harmful to your partner, as it can make you feel that you care more about other things or activities than they do.

5: Physical Touch
For people with this language of love, nothing is more impressive than the physical touch of their partner. They do not necessarily have an exaggerated PDA, but they feel more connected and secure in a relationship holding hands, kissing, hugging, etc.

If Physical Touch is your partner's primary love language, they will feel unloved without physical contact. All the words and gifts in the world will not change that. They want to feel you, not only emotionally, but physically.

Chapman's book states that the list of five love languages ​​is exhaustive. According to this theory, each person has a primary and secondary love language.

Chapman suggests that in order to discover another person's language of love, one must observe the way he expresses love to others and analyze what they complain most often about and what they ask of their partner more often. He theorizes that people tend to give love naturally in the way they prefer to receive love, and better communication between couples can be achieved when one can show affection to the other person in the language of love that the recipient understands. An example would be if a husband's love language is an act of service, he can get confused when he washes his wife's clothes and she does not perceive it as an act of love, and sees it as simply performing housework because the language of love she understands his words of affirmation (verbal affirmation that he loves her). You can try to use what you value, words of affirmation, to express your love, what he would not value as much as she does. If she understands his love language and mows the lawn for him, he perceives it in his love language as an act of expressing his love for him; Similarly, if he tells her that he loves her, she values ​​it as an act of love.

There are five love languages: words of affirmation, acts of service, reception of gifts, quality time and physical contact. Each one is important and expresses love in their own way. Learning your partner's primary language and your love will help you create a stronger bond in your relationship.

Book Club Questions

Book Review
Whether your marriage needs an overhaul or an important overhaul, these are powerful recipes delivered by a great and wise man.

About the author
Gary Chapman - author, speaker, consultant - has a passion for people and help them form lasting relationships. He is the first best-selling author of the 5-language language series and director of Marriage and Family Life Consultants, Inc. Gary travels the world delivering seminars, and his radio programs air on more than 400 stations.

About The Author
Gary Chapman—author, speaker, and counselor—has a passion for people and for helping them form lasting relationships. He is the bestselling author of The 5 Love Languages® series and the director of Marriage and Family Life Consultants, Inc. Gary travels the world presenting seminars and his radio programs air on more than 400 stations.

For more information, visit or connect with Gary on his social platforms:
Twitter @DrGaryChapman
Facebook /5lovelanguages
Instagram /5lovelanguages

Buy From Amazon