To Evolution

Beneath a Scarlet Sky: A Novel (Download-EBUP-Book Review-Online Reading-Summary)

image

  • Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (May 1, 2017)
  • Language: English

Summary: Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.
In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders.
Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.
Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.
About the author:
Mark Sullivan is the famous author of eighteen novels, including the # 1 New York Times best-selling series, which he writes with James Patterson. Mark received numerous awards for his book, including the Fresh Talents Award and Smith, and his work has been named The New York Times Book and the Los Angeles Times best book of the year. He grew up in Midfield, Massachusetts, and graduated from Hamilton College with a BA in English before working as a volunteer in the Peace Corps of Niger, West Africa. Upon his return to the United States, he received a postgraduate degree from the University of Northwestern Medical School and a career in investigative journalism. Overbearing and avid and adventurous, he lives with his wife in Bozeman, Montana, where he is still grateful for a miracle every moment.