The Sound and the Fury By William Faulkner (Download-PDF-Online Reading-Summary)


(Download-PDF-Online Reading-Summary)

The Sound and the Fury is a novel written by the American author William Faulkner. It employs a series of narrative styles, including a stream of consciousness. Published in 1929, The Sound and the Fury was Faulkner's fourth novel and had no immediate success. In 1931, however, when Faulkner's sixth novel, Sanctuary, a sensationalist story, was published that Faulkner later claimed was written for money alone, The Sound and the Fury also had commercial success, and Faulkner began to receive critical attention.
In 1998, the Modern Library ranked The Sound and the Fury in sixth place on its list of the 100 best novels in English of the 20th century.
The Sound and the Fury takes place in the fictional county of Yoknapatawpha. The novel focuses on the Compson family, ex-aristocrats of the South struggling to cope with the dissolution of their family and their reputation. The novel is separated into four distinct sections. The Sound and the Fury is set in Jefferson, Mississippi. The novel centers on the Compson family, former Southern aristocrats who are struggling to deal with the dissolution of their family and its reputation. Over the course of the 30 years or so related in the novel, the family falls into financial ruin, loses its religious faith and the respect of the town of Jefferson, and many of them die tragically.
The novel is separated into four distinct sections. The first, April 7, 1928, is written from the perspective of Benjamin "Benjy" Compson, an intellectually disabled 33-year-old man. The characteristics of his impairment are not clear, but it is implied that he has a learning disability. Benjy's section is characterized by a highly disjointed narrative style with frequent chronological leaps. The second section, June 2, 1910, focuses on Quentin Compson, Benjy's older brother, and the events leading up to his suicide.
In the third section, set a day before the first, on April 6, 1928, Faulkner writes from the point of view of Jason, Quentin's cynical younger brother. In the fourth and final section, set a day after the first, on April 8, 1928, Faulkner introduces a third person omniscient point of view. The last section primarily focuses on Dilsey, one of the Compsons' black servants. Jason is also a focus in the section, but Faulkner presents glimpses of the thoughts and deeds of everyone in the family.
In 1945, Faulkner wrote a "Compson Appendix" to be included with future printings of The Sound and the Fury. It contains a 30-page history of the Compson family from 1699 to 1945. 

Author William Faulkner
Country United States
Language English
Genre Southern Gothic novel
Modernist novel
Published 1929
Publisher Jonathan Cape and Harrison Smith
Publication date

Book Club Questions

Buy From Amazon


Commenting only available for logged in users