Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Novel) Book By J. K. Rowling (PDF-Summary-Review-Online Reading-Download)


Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is a fantasy novel written by British author J. K. Rowling and the second novel in the Harry Potter series. The plot follows Harry's second year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, during which a series of messages on the walls of the school corridors warns that the "Chamber of Secrets" has been opened and that the " Slytherin heir "would kill all students. those who do not come from totally magical families. These threats come after the attacks that leave the residents of the school petrified. Throughout the year, Harry and his friends Ron and Hermione investigate the attacks.

The book was published in the United Kingdom on July 2, 1998, by Bloomsbury and later in the United States on June 2, 1999, by Scholastic Inc. Although Rowling says it was difficult for her to finish the book, she won high praise and awards from critics, young readers, and the book industry, though some critics thought the story was perhaps too scary for younger children. As with other novels in the series, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets sparked religious debates; Some religious authorities have condemned the use of magical themes, while others have praised its emphasis on personal sacrifice and the way in which one's character is the result of elections.

Several commentators have pointed out that personal identity is an important theme in the book and that it addresses issues of racism through the treatment of non-human, non-magical, and non-living people. Some commentators view the newspaper as a warning against uncritical acceptance of information from sources whose motives and reliability cannot be verified. Institutional authority is presented as selfish and incompetent.

The film adaptation of the novel, released in 2002, became (at the time) the fifth highest-grossing film in history and received generally favorable reviews. Loosely based video games on Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets were also released for various platforms, with most getting rave reviews.

Book Details
Originally published: July 2, 1998
Release number: 2nd in series
Genres: Novel, Fantasy, Bildungsroman, High fantasy, Fantasy Fiction, Adventure fiction

Book Summary
Since Harry Potter had returned home during the summer, the Dursleys had been so bad and horrible that all Harry wanted was to return to the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he is packing, Harry receives a warning from a strange mischievous creature saying that if Harry returns to Hogwarts, a disaster will occur.

And it hits it. In Harry's second year at Hogwarts, new torments and horrors emerge, including a shockingly cocky new teacher and a spirit that haunts the girls' bathroom. But then the real problem begins: Someone is turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone suspects at Hogwarts ... the same Harry Potter!

Book Review
A little bland at times, with less awe and discovery than before, but it ends well with a more satisfying conclusion.

Book Club Questions

About The Book Author J. K. Rowling
J.K. Rowling is the author of the record-breaking, multi-award-winning Harry Potter novels. Loved by fans around the world, the series has sold more than 500 million copies, been translated into 80 languages and made into eight blockbuster films.

She has written three companion volumes in aid of charity: Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (in aid of Comic Relief and Lumos), and The Tales of Beedle the Bard (in aid of Lumos).

In 2012, J.K. Rowling’s digital company and digital publisher Pottermore was launched, a place where fans can enjoy the latest news from across the wizarding world, features, and original writing by J.K. Rowling.

Her first novel for adult readers, The Casual Vacancy, was published in September 2012 and adapted for TV by the BBC in 2015. J.K. Rowling also writes crime novels under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, featuring private detective Cormoran Strike. The first four novels The Cuckoo’s Calling (2013), The Silkworm (2014), Career of Evil (2015), and Lethal White (2018) all topped the national and international bestseller lists. The first three have been adapted for television, produced by Brontë Film and Television.

J.K. Rowling’s 2008 Harvard commencement speech was published in 2015 as an illustrated book, Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination, and sold in aid of Lumos and university-wide financial aid at Harvard.

In 2016, J.K. Rowling collaborated with writer Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany on the stage play Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts One and Two, which is now running at The Palace Theatre in London’s West End and at The Lyric Theatre on Broadway.

Also in 2016, J.K. Rowling made her screenwriting debut with the film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. A prequel to the Harry Potter series, this new adventure of Magizoologist Newt Scamander marked the start of a five-film series to be written by the author. The second film in the series, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald was released in November 2018.

The script book of the play Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts One and Two was published in 2016. The original screenplays of the Fantastic Beasts films are published too: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016) and Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (2018).

As well as receiving an OBE and Companion of Honour for services to children’s literature, J.K. Rowling has received many awards and honors, including France’s Légion d’Honneur and the Hans Christian Andersen Award.



Commenting only available for logged in users