My Brilliant Friend Book By Elena Ferrante (PDF-Book-Summary-Review-Online Reading-Download)

Neapolitan novels are a 4-part series by the Italian author Elena Ferrante, translated by Ann Goldstein and published by Europa Editions (New York). They include the following novels: My Brilliant Friend (2012), The Story of a New Name (2013), Who Goes and Who Stays (2014), and The Story of the Lost Child (2015). The series has been characterized as a bildungsroman or coming of age story. In an interview for Harper’s Magazine, Elena Ferrante stated that she considers the four books to be “a single novel”, published serially for reasons of duration and duration. The series has sold more than 10 million copies in 40 countries.

The series follows the lives of two perceptive and intelligent girls, Elena (sometimes called “Lenù”) Greco and Raffaella (“Lila”) Cerullo, from childhood to adulthood and old age, as they try to create lives in the midst of life. violence and violence. dazzling culture of your home: a poor neighborhood on the outskirts of Naples, Italy. The novels are narrated by Elena Greco.

April De Angelis adapted the series into a two-part play at the Kingston Rose Theater in March 2017. Rose’s production will be transferred to the Royal National Theater in November 2019. The first two books in the series have been adapted HBO television series titled My Brilliant Friend.

Book DetailsOriginally published: October 19, 2011AuthorElena FerranteFollowed byThe Story of a New NameOriginal language: ItalianGenres: Novel, Fiction

Book Summary

A modern masterpiece by one of Italy’s most acclaimed authors, My Brilliant Friend is a rich, intense, and generous story about two friends, Elena and Lila. Ferrante’s inimitable style lends itself perfectly to a meticulous portrait of these two women that is also the history of a nation and a moving meditation on the nature of friendship. Through the lives of these two women, Ferrante tells the story of a neighborhood, a city, and a country, since it is transformed in a way that, in turn, also transforms the relationship between its two protagonists.

Book Review

Ferrante’s novels are intensely, violently personal, and because of this, bristles of confession seem to hang before the unsuspecting reader.


The central themes of the novels include the friendship of women and the configuration of the lives of women by their social environment, sexual and intellectual jealousy and competition within female friendships, female ambivalence about filial and maternal roles, the rise of intelligent children out of violent domestic and social settings, class conflict, the role of literature and the social responsibility of the writer amidst the social upheaval and within protest movements, the changing conditions of women in the 1970s, early computerization, and the Italian factory strikes of the 1970s.

Book on Amazon

About The Author of The Book Elena Ferrante

Elena Ferrante is the author of The Days of Abandonment (Europa, 2005), which was made into a film directed by Roberto Faenza, Troubling Love (Europa, 2006), adapted by Mario Martone, and The Lost Daughter (Europa, 2008), soon to be a film directed by Maggie Gyllenhaal. She is also the author of a Frantumaglia: A Writer’s Journey (Europa, 2016) in which she recounts her experience as a novelist, and a children’s picture book illustrated by Mara Cerri, The Beach at Night (Europa, 2016). The four volumes are known as the “Neapolitan Quartet” (My Brilliant Friend, The Story of a New Name, Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay, and The Story of the Lost Child) were published in America by Europa between 2012 and 2015. The first season of the HBO series My Brilliant Friend, directed by Severio Costanzo premiered in 2018.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *